9 April 2009 – eating out and worrying about the calories

How many calories in an omelette?

How many calories in an omelette?

We got lost going to ABC computers this morning. Mac swore he knew exactly where it was. He didn’t. After driving round the wrong industrial estate three times I gave up and got my iPhone out to Google the address. It was on the other side of the city. I wonder how he manages to find his way to work, he has no sense of direction, he’s always telling tales of getting hopelessly lost. I’d hate to be on a car journey with him AND Joe.

“Why don’t you get a satnav?” I asked.

“Joe’s doesn’t seem to do him much good. It’s always sending him the wrong way, he nearly drove into a river once you know.”

“I remember,” I chuckled, thinking of all the panicked phone calls I used to get from him. “Fair point.”

It was an interesting experience interviewing all the staff at risk of redundancy. I knew exactly how they felt having the rug pulled from under them like that. I could see by some of the faces that they were in shock, going through the same emotions I had but having to keep going to work every day too. I’m not sure how I’d have coped with that. It did feel good to be doing something to help them though.

The day zoomed past. We were there until five, with a break for lunch. Mac drove us into town and we had a lovely meal in John Lewis, overlooking the water. There’s certainly a beautiful view from up there. The food was nice too. I had an omelette with peppers and onions, they cook it in front of you and you can choose what you have in it. I stood watching the chef expertly working away on omelette after omelette while we were in the queue thinking, ‘I could do with him at home.’ I’m a bit worried about the calorie count though. I’ve not exactly been good so far this month and I stayed the same again this week. I really need to get back on track, cut out the treats and start losing weight again. I’ve come too far to give up now. It’s tough with Mac constantly leading me astray though and with Easter coming up and chocolate everywhere I look.

Leave a Reply

