7 July 2009 – who’s going to drive me home?

Bay parking was the least of my worries

Bay parking was the least of my worries

Today Mike drove me to the other side of town to some quiet roads in Shirley. Then he let me loose on real roads again. First we practiced the reversing round a corner thing that everyone goes on about. That wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be and I never even went up on the kerb or anything.

Then we drove round all these little side roads practicing junctions. That was a bit scary as there were a few other cars around. Every time I saw another car coming towards me I felt all panicky. I don’t think I’ve really got the concept of the size of the car and whether I can get through gaps. After that we did some parallel parking which I suck at. Still, Commando hates that and he’s been driving for ever so I guess I shouldn’t be too concerned about finding it hard. After that Mike drove me back to the car park by the shore and I did some more bay parking which suddenly seemed so much easier.

Just as I was relaxing a bit it was time to go home and he dropped the bombshell that I would be the one driving back. I thought I was going to have a heart attack. There were cars everywhere and people on push bikes and pedestrians. It was horrifying. There was even a mini roundabout and then, at the end of it, negotiating the horrible junction at the top of my road and driving down my own Little Hill (which is anything but little). It’s a steep hill which winds round a tight bend on a very narrow road with cars parked everywhere. I don’t think I breathed the whole way down there. I know I let out a huge sigh of relief when I pulled up outside my house and my hands were almost welded to the wheel. I did it though!

After that there was chocolate, not a lot, but chocolate nonetheless. These things always seem to end in chocolate.

 

Leave a Reply

