10 August – yet more bad news, will it ever end?

A bombshell I could have done without!

A bombshell I could have done without!

Despite all the not being able to eat over the last few days I haven’t lost an ounce this week. As if that wasn’t bad enough when I got to work today Jolie was in the office with Mac. They both looked at each other guiltily when I walked in. At first I thought she was there because she wanted me to work in Gosport again and they were looking so shifty because they were talking about me and plotting. Every time Jolie wants me to work in Gosport she and Mac end up having a row about it because Mac says he can’t spare me and she tells him she’s the boss, then he sulks. He looked pretty sulky as it happened.

It wasn’t that at all though.
“How would you feel about working in Gosport full time?” Jolie said as soon as I’d taken my coat off.
“How long for?”
“For good.”
“But what about Mac? Who’s going to look after this office?”
“The thing is Kate rang me last night and she’s decided she is coming back to work when her maternity leave ends next month. I wish she wasn’t but my hands are tied.”
“I see,” I said. Feeling quite sick. As if it wasn’t bad enough that Commando might be made redundant, it looked like my job was coming to and end too and I’d really enjoyed working with Mac.
“You’ve done brilliantly here, especially as you’ve been thrown in at the deep end and I don’t want to lose you. That’s why I’d like you to come and work for me in the Gosport office. It would be full time and I’d give you a pay rise. What do you think?”
I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t want to work in that horrible office but could I afford to turn it down? Then there was the question of how I’d get there. Jolie answered that before I’d even asked it though, she said she would pick me up and drop me home every day until I passed my driving test. She does live quite close to me but, even so, I didn’t like the sound of it. For one its a long journey, especially in rush hour. It would also put a lot of pressure on me to pass my test quickly and the driving itself is enough pressure all on its own. I’m not sure exactly what I said to her. I was all in a dither about it. She could obviously tell I was undecided (to say the least).
“You don’t have to give me an answer now. I understand you need to think about it, talk it over with your husband. Just don’t dismiss it out of hand because I can see you going a long way in this company.”

As soon as she’d gone Mac said, “you don’t want to do it you?”
“Was it that obvious?”
“A bit, but I wouldn’t either. That office is back stab city. I hated it too. I did try to talk her into letting you stay here and making Kate work in Gosport but she wouldn’t have it.”
“Thanks for trying Mac.”
“Don’t thank me. I didn’t do it for you sweets. You should know me better than that, the only person I do anything for is me. I can’t stand Kate. She’s lazy, she’s useless and she doesn’t wash her hands when she goes to the loo,” he wrinkled his nose at the last bit. Not washing properly is a mortal sin in Mac’s eyes, he worries about the germs.
“How can you possibly know that?”
“She’s not in there long enough to pee and wash her hands. It’s gross.”
“So there no chance Jolie will change her mind and let me stay here then?”
“Not a pouf’s chance in a Nazi rugby club,” Mac shook his head sadly. “She can’t stand Kate. There’s no way she’ll have her working back at Gosport.”
“So that’s that then. I’ll have to go to Gosport or find another job.”
“Well you’re in the right place sweet cheeks, we’ll get you fixed up with something in no time, don’t you worry.”

I am worried though. I’ve got until the end of next month to find something and, despite what Mac says, there aren’t that many decent jobs out there right now, especially for someone who doesn’t drive.

Talking of driving, I had a lesson this afternoon. Goodness knows how I concentrated with all the worries about work going through my head. We went to Shirley again, with me driving. This time, when we passed Dream Factory I managed to take my eyes off the road for long enough to look at the building. I’m getting very daring. There was no one outside though.

Leave a Reply

