19 November 2009 – memories of the cabbage soup diet

Unfortunate co sequences from horrible soup

Unfortunate consequences from horrible soup

So far this week I’m on target for my sales, I’ve got one every day and I’ve got a service contract but it feels like the pressure is never off. No sooner have I got a sale then I’m worrying about the next one and, as everyone else except Tom, is getting lots of sales every day I feel like I’m letting the team down. Next week I’m having a one to one with Maddie and I’m a bit worried what she’s going to say.

Rae, Panda and I were in the canteen at lunch time today. Panda was eating some sandwiches she brought from home and had a Mars Bar in front of her for when they were finished. Like Panda, I had my own sandwiches along with a skinny latte. Rae was slowly working her way through a bowl of horrible looking soup, part of her Cambridge diet. She’s a really softly spoken girl and seems quite shy but Panda talks loud enough for all of us. When Rae suddenly let out a loud belch I could hardly believe my ears.

“Bloody hell Rae!” Panda said and turning to me, “she’s got no shame at all. It’s all that Cambridge rubbish she eats, if it’s not coming out one end it’s coming out the other so I guess we have to be thankful it wasn’t the other end seeing as we’re eating.”
Rae blushed and I giggled remembering the cabbage soup diet. “Pardon me,” she said. “Even her Majesty the Queen farts and belches Pandora, it’s a normal human function.”
“If you call me Pandora again farting will be the least of your worries,” Panda growled.
“A rose by any other name…” Rae smiled sweetly.
“Would smell like one of your rank farts,” Panda laughed.
“If you want to annoy her just call her by her given name,” Rae said to me.
“I’m pretty sure I don’t want to annoy her,” I said. Still the mystery of why she is called Panda was solved and it was nice to be included in the team banter. Even so I really wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of Panda.

Leave a Reply

