12 December 2009 – pre match drinks

Pre match drinks

Pre match drinks

Yesterday was more or less a right off again, even without a hangover. Dragging myself out of bed was effort enough and I walked through the day as if I was struggling through treacle. Walking up the Big Hill to the shops was about as active as I got. There was a moment when I thought I wasn’t even going to make it to the top. At ten o’clock, when Commando came home from his overtime, he found me asleep in front of the TV. I’m not sure how long I can keep this up.

Today was all about football. Usually we walk straight to the match but today we met some of Commando’s work mates in the pub before the game. As usual I asked for diet coke. Gaz handed me a rum and coke. There seemed to be a game going on, something along the lines of how many drinks could be downed without missing kick off. The only person who actually brought me what I asked for was Commando so, by the time we made it to the stadium I was feeling a little the worse for wear.

The cold of the stadium woke me up a little and the match was exciting. Tranmere seemed to be fielding a bunch of girls, falling over and crying, which was quite frustrating, but the score line of three nil to the Southern Boys with all three goals in the second half gave us plenty to cheer about. That’s five wins in a row which is almost unheard of. Hope we can make it six on Tuesday in the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy match.

We rounded off the day with a final rum and coke in the pub with the lads and a Chinese takeaway dinner. The evening was rounded off with hot chocolate laced with even more rum and the match highlights on TV. Way too much alcohol and way too much food but happy days.

Leave a Reply

