17 January 2010 – the Big Push for Turkey continues

Designed to drive me nuts?

Designed to drive me nuts?

The weekend goes way too fast, even with three days of it. Still, I’ve managed a whole week of the big push for Turkey without a single slip up, unless you count the fence breaking on the ice the other day. Every single day I’ve done Wi Fit and Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday I did the Pump it Up warm up too. Actually, I think I’m improving on that slightly. Occasionally I manage to move in the same direction as all the skinny girls on the DVD and, on Thursday, I didn’t feel like I was about to have a heart attack at the end of the ten minutes although my thighs felt like they were going to spontaneously combust during the squat pumps. I still can’t get through all those squat pumps without stopping either but even the dancers look like they’re struggling, one of the ones at the back almost gives up and they’re professional dancers. Maybe if I can actually master it I might move on to the twenty-minute dance workout. They call it an easy work out but, seeing as the warm up nearly kills me, I’m not so sure about that. Goodness knows what the high-energy section will be like, I’m too scared to even watch it. It is fun though, in a twisted kind of way.

Food wise I’ve been pretty good too. Somehow, even with all the goings on at work, I’ve stuck to just one latte a day and sensible eating with no chocolate or snacks. Yes, I could probably cut back more but I figure it’s good to have something in reserve and, if I’m too strict, I might go off the rails. I’m not saying it’s been easy, I’ve felt hungry, I’ve been tempted, I’ve been to bed early every night to avoid the biscuit tin, but I’ve done it.

The balance exercise on the Wii still defeats me, I’m either a little to the left or a little to the right. is it actually possible to be in the middle I wonder or is the whole thing designed to drive me nuts? The one thing I don’t really like about the Wii is not being able to avoid a daily weigh in. Yes it’s nice to see it going down, although it’s by such a minuscule amount it’s hardly noticeable on a daily basis and, on Tuesday and Thursday it actually went up a tiny bit which felt devastating at the time. The thing is I quite like the excitement and surprise of a weekly weigh in on a set day. So I’ve decided I’m only going to count the lowest weight each week whichever day that might be and I’m going to work Monday to Monday. As it stands I’ve lost three pounds this week, going on the lowest weight, which was actually today. The real result will come tomorrow morning though.

Leave a Reply

