5 March 2010 – walking the weight off

image

The bomb around the corner from the office was moved early this morning. Unfortunately it didn’t explode and destroy our office building in the process. The Navy bomb disposal people took it out into the sea blew it up at lunch time. Makes me wonder just how many other bombs there might be under buildings in the city? It’s not a very comforting thought.

While Commando was in bed I went for a walk down to the river. It’s been ages since I did that and I’d forgotten how enjoyable it was. The sun was still low in the sky, new leaves gave the trees a fuzz of bright green and everything looked fresh and new. The park was quiet because it’s a week day so when I got to Woodmill I just kept on going until I got to Mansbridge. For a while I sat on a bench and watched the swans then I turned around and walked all the way back.

This afternoon my legs were a little stiff but I had walked five miles so I suppose that’s to be expected. Maybe I should make it a regular thing on a Friday morning.

Leave a Reply

