10 May 2010 – weigh in blues and back to the Mad House

Don't let the sunshine and blue skies fool you, it's a sinister place

Don’t let the sunshine and blue skies fool you, it’s a sinister place

So it was down to earth with a bump this morning. First there was a weigh in. Yes, I knew it wasn’t going to be good after a week of lazing on the beach and eating fancy food in restaurants every day not to mention all those ice creams. Turns out it was eight pounds worth of bad! Eight pounds! More than half a stone! Worse still it took me out of the elevens and back into the twelves, well twelve stone exactly. I could have cried. In fact I think I did cry a little bit.

Now I’m not saying the holiday wasn’t worth it because it was. Turkey was everything I’d hoped and more and I got my fiftieth birthday wish to drink champagne on the beach in my bikini. Better still no whaling boats turned up to harpoon me. Eight pounds though! How long is it going to take me to get that off? Still, what’s done is done and I have to live with it. Maybe I should also learn a lesson from it. Weight goes on a lot faster than it comes off so I should think a little more before I stuff something in my mouth.

What I was really finding hard to live with was the reality of going back to the call centre. Walking through the war zone I had the same old sick feeling in my stomach. Entering the building I had the urge to turn and run the other way. Of course I didn’t and I spent ten hours trying to get back into the swing of wrap time and call length, sales and stroppy customers. The one bright spot was seeing Panda, Rae and Primo. Boy were they jealous of my tan!

The best bit of the day came mid afternoon. Despite feeling a little like a fish out of water, one that had forgotten how to type not to mention anything I ever knew about washing machines, fridges or the like, I managed to get three sales. I’m pretty sure it was more luck than judgement especially as the phones went uncharacteristically quiet after lunch. We were basically sitting around twiddling our thumbs when Kim announced they were letting one member of each team go home early. As I was the only one with any sales that one person was me! Result!

Leave a Reply

