9 June 2010 – lazy day

image


I love having time off work! Today was a lazy morning with Jeremy Kyle, well until Commando finished hoovering and came into the room. Then he turned it over muttering something about “bloody chavs.” Now I’ll never know if Gary was really the father or not.

In my defence there was a half an hour of Wii Fit before I sat watching rubbish day time TV and some gardening afterwards so they day wasn’t entirely exercise free.
I probably should have gone for a walk though, after all I said I would walk every day. Still I suppose one lazyish day is allowed seeing as I’m on holiday. 


Thursday 10 June 2010

The girls are coming round tonight for a girls night so I spent a great deal of today cooking. The plan was to make healthyish snacks to soak up the alcohol and avoid any over the top drunkenness. Let’s face it I was flogging a dead horse there but at least I was trying.

On the healthy side I made crudités, carrots, peppers, celery, that kind of thing and some home made dips, salsa, low fat cream cheese honey and mustard. There were melon balls, pineapple and grapes too for sweetness. Then I went a little off track with crostini, crackers, flapjacks and chocolate cookies not to mention the Doritos. Let’s face it you can’t have nibbles without Doritos. Let’s just gloss over the jelly vodka shots…

Oh well, back to the drawing board tomorrow then.

Ice, better in coke than an iPhone

Ice, better in coke than an iPhone

Friday 11 June 2010

In all fairness I did pretty well on the food front last night and avoided over consumption of alcohol by drinking plain diet coke and telling everyone there was rum in it. There was one rum enhanced drink but I accidentally managed to drop my new iPhone into that, smashing the glass. There was a moment of sheer horror when I thought I might have to make another insurance claim but Panda, who appears to be an expert in phones dropped in drinks, rescued the situation and dried it out. After about half an hour it even worked again. Apparently it would have been a different sorry if the coke had been the full fat variety.

Of course there was drunkenness, mainly Primo, and lots of loud raucous laughter. It’s a good job the gym is on the far side of the house, well away from our nearest neighbours really. Rae, who is currently in the middle of yet another Cambridge diet, was in fine form, that is very windy. Poor Mini Commando, who came home at some point in the proceedings, was quite shocked by all the farting which, coming from him, shows just how badly living on soups and shakes affects the digestive system. He isn’t used to women being quite so free with their flatulence. 

Saturday 12 June 2010

We sat inside watching the England USA World Cup group match today when we could have been out in the garden catching the last rays of the sun sipping wine on the decking. What a waste of good sun.

It was touted as the easiest match for us and we blew it and drew it 1-1. Seriously, if we can’t even beat USA what hope have we got? England were uninspired end of story. Still, I’m hardly inspired myself on the food and exercise front. At the beginning if my week off I was totally determined to stick to the diet and go for long walks every day. It didn’t happen like that though and now I’ve got the scales to face on Monday as well as work. Why can’t I seem to stick to it?

Leave a Reply

