23 October 2010 – football, weighted waistcoats and takeaways

image

Once I’d finished my low fat croissant weekend treat I sat in my new snuggly size 12 La Senza PJ’s for a while feeling smug about fitting into them. They were one of the items I picked up from the parcel office yesterday, another of my eBay bargains.

We went to the football this afternoon. Usually this is an emotional rollercoaster when you’re a Saints supporter. It’s a thirty minute walk there and of course I took the rucksack. They look in your bag before they let you in and Commando always worries that they’ll question me about the packs of sand. Well today for the first time it happened. Luckily it was a female steward and she understood completely. In fact was asking me how I had managed to lose the weight. 



Anyway the match was a bit up and down as Oldham scored first. Luckily we got one back just before half time and another in the second half. Two chances to jump up and down and burn some more calories. After a good match, for once, we walked home burning a few more calories.

Then Commando said he wanted a Chinese. Yikes. 

I did have quite a few calories left but hate to eat all my exercise calories so I suggested I walk up the big hill to the takeaway shop. Commando skippered that though because he had some bits and pieces he wanted to pick up in Sainsburys, so that was out of the window.

While he was gone I did thirty minutes of step in front of the TV with my 5kg weighted waistcoat on. This burnt enough calories to eat a small portion of Chinese with a few left over for some prawn crackers later this evening. 

I know it’s a bit naughty but it was lovely, even if I couldn’t eat it all. I think my stomach has shrunk. I guess sometimes you just have to go with the flow. Now I feel a bit over full though and I hope it doesn’t mean another week with no loss.

If anyone is wondering about the weighted waistcoat it was something Commando told me about after his friend from the Martial Arts club got a very expensive one. Basically it’s a waistcoat with little pockets filled with weights. They come in various different weights and most are very expensive but I had a bit of a search on eBay and found a cheaper version. Ok so it doesn’t look too pretty but it does the job and is actually more comfortable than the rucksack because it distributes the weight better. I’d wear it for walking but it looks a bit like some kind of terrorist bomb waistcoat, plus I don’t think my coat would fit over it. It weighs 5kg which is, I believe about 11 lb.

Leave a Reply

