2 february 2011 – The Egyptian uprising

Brewed in Percolator

This morning there was no exercise but it wasn’t down to Commando Junior this time. It was the news that caught may attention. The stories about what is happening in Egypt was so sad I just couldn’t take my eyes off it. Egypt is a place I’ve visited so, somehow, it made it all seem so much worse. I guess it always is when it’s a place you know.

The beautiful paintings in the tombs in Luxor are being destroyed with axes and spades as people try to smash their way in to get treasure that was stolen centuries ago. They have broken into the museum in Ciaro and mummies have been smashed but ironically all they have actually taken are things from the gift shop. The statue of Tutenkhamun on the leopard has been broken. I am so very sad.

when I visited Egypt and saw all these things which others won’t now be able to see. These poor people don’t even understand that by destroying these things from their past they are damaging their future. Egypt depends on tourists so much, I’m afraid that if things don’t calm down soon they will do irrevocable damage not just to the artefacts but to their main industry.

Such a shame as it is such a beautiful country and such lovely people but I suppose it’s not surprising given all the poverty out there and the lack of education. My heart goes out to my Egyptian friends.

On a more positive note, I’ve been looking at my stats on WLR and, since I started on there on 4th July, 
I’ve lost 2 stone 1 lb
, 2 inches off each thigh, 
4 inches off my hips
, 6 1/2 inches off my waist, 
3 inches off my bust and 
1 inch from the top of each arm
. My body fat has gone down by 6%
, my BMI has gone from 28.3 to 23.3. 

Boasting it may be but I’m pretty pleased with myself.

Leave a Reply

