1 May 2011 – Anniversary walk

river-41

Today was my wedding anniversary so what better than a gentle stroll with Commando down to the White Swan where we first met? Of course this time I had to promise not to walk too fast so he could keep up.

What a turn up for the books that was. Not so very long ago he would be the one strolling out ahead of me with his long legs while I struggled to keep up, puffing and panting and red in the face.

It felt odd to be walking along the river with no long Moonwalk training miles ahead of me. Stranger still to be stopping off at the pub and going inside for a drink. It was lovely to sit in the garden looking over the water and talking about the old days when we first me though. Who’d have thought we be here all those years later, still together. Who’d have thought too that a five mile round trip would seem like a short walk. Still after my final Moonwalk training of twenty seven miles I guess anything would seem like a short walk.

Leave a Reply

